Your Legal
For Life

Iowa City Defense Attorney For Crimes Related To Underage Drinking

Last updated on June 20, 2024

Whether you face charges for using a fake ID to get into a bar, drinking while underage or supplying alcohol to someone who is underage, the charges are serious – especially for students.

At Johnston, Stannard, Klesner, Burbidge & Fitzgerald, P.L.C., we have protected the interests of Iowa City defendants for more than 50 years. Hawkeyes from The University of Iowa (UI), students at Kirkwood Community College (KCC) and others who have been charged with crimes related to underage drinking know that we are their go-to legal resource for many needs. Criminal defense attorney Shawn Fitzgerald firmly believes that a mistake should never be allowed to derail a young person’s entire future.

What Should Iowa Students Know About Underage Drinking?

Many underestimate the potential for legal consequences related to underage drinking. It is important to understand that criminal charges off campus can lead to disciplinary action on campus. Depending upon the nature of the charges and the outcome of your criminal case, you could be facing restrictions, suspensions or even expulsion from your university. Common offenses include:

  • Possession of alcohol under legal age (PAULA): This is a misdemeanor offense without the possibility of jail time, but it does include steep fines.
  • Being in a bar after 10 when under 21: Iowa City considers this a simple misdemeanor, but it carries a $400 fine.
  • Supplying alcohol to underage drinkers: This is a serious misdemeanor with heavy fines, but the charges can escalate to felonies and involve prison time if the minor you supplied causes an injury or death.
  • Possession of a fictitious ID: This is a higher level misdemeanor that involves fines and up to a year in jail upon conviction.
  • Unlawful use of an ID: This involves using someone else’s ID as your own. It is a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine.

The last two offenses will also result in a license suspension for 30 days to six months if you have an Iowa driver’s license. If you have an out-of-state license, your license may be suspended for 365 days just for being cited, even without a conviction.

Talk To An Experienced College Crimes Defense Lawyer Today

Call Johnston, Stannard, Klesner, Burbidge & Fitzgerald, P.L.C. at 319-359-6492 today or contact us by email to schedule an appointment with a defense lawyer who understands the unique concerns of college and underage students who have been charged with a crime. We can represent you in court and before university administrators alike.

Notable Cases

Cedar County AGCR024516 — PLEA OFFER ACCEPTED — Attorney Shawn Fitzgerald’s client was accused of the crime of Operating a Motor Vehicle While License is Barred as a Habitual Offender §321.560/ §321.561/ §321.555 /§321.556 (An Aggravated Misdemeanor), as well as Failure to Use Child Restraint Devise §321.446 (A Scheduled Violation). Attorney Shawn Fitzgerald was able to secure a plea offer satisfactory to both client and state.

Notable Cases

Muscatine County AGCR057733 — PLEA ACCEPTED, CHARGE REDUCED — Attorney Shawn Fitzgerald’s client was accused of Domestic Abuse Assault §708.2A(2)(b) (A Serious Misdemeanor). An initial plea offer stated the client would have to plead guilty as charged, attorney Shawn Fitzgerald worked for a better offer for his client. The client was able to plead guilty to an amended lesser charge of Disorderly Conduct §723.4(2) (A Simple Misdemeanor).