If you have a suspended or revoked Iowa driver’s license because of an OWI charge, you may wonder what the consequences are if you continue to drive.
Iowa law outlines what will happen if authorities find you driving without an active license and what you can do to get it reinstated to avoid future legal trouble.
What are the consequences of driving on a suspended or revoked license?
Under Iowa law, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a serious misdemeanor and is punishable by a $1,000 fine. You may also have your vehicle impounded for the offense. If authorities find you driving without a valid license for a second time, they can seize the vehicle you are driving and turn it over to the state. If someone loaned you the vehicle, they may also face misdemeanor charges.
How do I get my license reinstated?
To avoid the repercussions of driving on a suspended or revoked license, you can focus on reinstating your license. You must complete a few steps to accomplish this. First, you must pay a $200 state fee. You must also complete an approved drinking driver course, obtain a substance abuse evaluation and receive rehabilitation if required. You may also need to submit a certificate of financial responsibility to the state and prove that you have an interlocking device installed on your vehicle if it is still in your possession.
Driving on a revoked or suspended license can have significant consequences. Working toward reinstating your license before driving can help you avoid them.